What is happening to our world?

“When I was a boy and I would see scary things in the news, my mother would say to me, “Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping.” To this day, especially in times of “disaster,” I remember my mother’s words and I am always comforted by realizing that there are still so many helpers – so many caring people in this world

Even though this blog is primarily used for discussing my course e-learning and digital cultures, I have to take a minute and ponder…. Thank God there are so many helpers. The disaster that was Sandy Hook Elementary will haunt me for some time. I’m wondering what will the atmosphere  be at MY elementary school when I return on Monday. As I wonder why these horrible things happen, I can’t help thinking….. Will all these new technological advancements build a better world? Evil has always been with us, it just seems that in the 21st century it’s more pervasive. Do virtual reality games that glorify violence while desensitizing the game player, feed the evil that is already present? I fear no one has the answer. As Fred Rogers reminds us “I am always comforted by realizing there are so many helpers-so many caring people in the world.” Well after we’ve grieved, and let the care takers take care, let’s do SOMETHING and I don’t mean gun control, because then evil people will just use bombs or chemical weapons.The only something that I can do right now is PRAY. Pray for the families, the teachers, the community, pray that time will heal this awful wound, pray protection for all of us. 

Leave a Reply

