Just roaming around

After scanning twitter and our FB EDCmooc group, I decided to form some kind of clear direction on what I want to learn in this upcoming course. After re reading the course description, this is what I am hoping for….

1. gain a deeper understanding of what it means to teach and learn in this digital age.

2. examine the relationship between people and technology and how that will improve my teaching

3. learn how digital cultures intersect with learning cultures online

4. examine how learning and literacy is represented in cyber culture

5. How does the influence of popular digital culture influence our understanding of e-learning.

6. Learn various visual methods of presenting knowledge and conveying understanding

7. Grapple with the concept of post humanism

In my roaming around cyberspace, I came upon the course work of previous E learning and digital culture students. Granted their course was 10 weeks long, but if what some of them produced is an example of what is expected in this course…. well I’m not sure I have what it takes.  just Google E-learning and digital cultures 2011 and see what I mean.

Another tidbit gleaned from my wanderings is…..drum roll please…  I now know what TED stands for..

Technology Entertainment Design, an organization devoted to Ideas worth spreading

or Think, Exchange, Debate

I’m always happy when I learn something new, even if everyone else knew about it long before I did.  Other reasons I’m happy…

I am happy to have formed new connections,happy to be using new platforms and experience different social media, happy to find new ways to engage learners, however, all these happy feelings are overshadowed by this most important hope……

Here’s hoping that I “got what it takes”

6 thoughts on “Just roaming around

    • Thanks for the tweet on Twitter and for responding to my blog. I am really glad we had this advance learning time before the course starts. There are so many things that I am not familiar with. Post humanism is a concept that is hard for me to grasp. There are some moral, ethical and spiritual elements that concern me, so I have been reading more about what it means to be post human.

      • Wow. Thanks for the 2011 tip off. I am choosing (after a small whimper escaped) to look at the visual artefacts/ ethnographies/[insert word of your own choice where you’re not 100% sure of the meaning] as the types of resources I’ll be able to put together and understand upon investing time and effort in to this course. I WILL NOT see them as scary objects to intimidate me. I’ve nearly convinced me. Have I convinced you?

  1. Hi
    I had to look up the definition of ethnography, I’m sure it’s floating around somewhere in the deep recesses of my brain, but I can’t grab it, so will have to go look again. My biggest problem is… I go in search of a definition or an article that someone suggests I read….then I see something else interesting and head off in another direction. I teach reading to third graders in the Resource Room. I can empathize with them as I demonstrate the same kind of LD when I’m roaming the NET. I haven’t looked at all the artifacts, but yes, I am intimidated at the prospect that I need a lot of tools, skill, and guidance to create something like that. Granted that course was 12 weeks long and probably for graduate credit, so maybe more is expected. My next task is to learn how to share a video that I just viewed on You Tube. It was about How to get the most out of a MOOC. Thanks for your comment.Perhaps we can encourage each other when the course begins.Courage in numbers?
    Willa

Leave a Reply

