Concerned About

3 things I’m concerned about re: my participation in E-Learning and Digital Cultures

1. As I was wandering around cyberspace, I came upon this quote from John Bigham

“The miracle isn’t that I finished.

The miracle is that I had the courage to start.”

This is exactly how I feel after reading the posts of my fellow Coursarians. Everyone there seems so professional and computer savvy that I feel like a fish out of water. Last night I wondered should I even bother? I’m not a quitter and I rarely  feel this way. Let’s hope I feel confident about something at some point.

2. Another concern is that I’m putting myself out there globally. I am now a Flicker, WordPress and soon to be You tube member,all requirements of the course. Could I get hacked, will I get those horrible spams that I get from my Yahoo account?  Today someone LIKED my post. I have no clue how he even found my blog. Don’t get me wrong, I’m glad someone even read it, but I was reluctant to reply and I don’t even know why.

3. Will any of my e-learning and digital cultures classmates find anything that I say valuable?

4 thoughts on “Concerned About

  1. Dear Willa,
    Well done. You have done it. Your first blog post! You spoke honestly about your opinions, fears, and expectations, and for that reason alone your classmates will definitely find what you have to say interesting. I hope you keep it up – I am sure you will learn loads as you go 🙂
    For now, here’s a nice help guide on Twitter. It should help you crack the egg problem http://www.wikihow.com/Use-Twitter

    Best wishes,
    Chris

    • Thanks, Chris ,for your comments. As you can see, I did crack the egg problem. Now I’m trying to find the perfect theme for my blog….that may take a while. I’d also like to thank you for all the wonderful posts and tweets. Seeing all the dots on our big blue marble is truly mind boggling. Someone suggested having all emmocers in a group on Facebook, what do you think of that suggestion?
      You seem to have a wealth of knowledge and love sharing it. I appreciate that so much!
      Willa

  2. Hello, there and welcome to the world of social media. You are asking some very good questions about your place in the world of social media. One of the best things that I can suggest that you do is consider moving to Google for your email. I had so many problems with spam when I used Yahoo. I am in the process of finishing a Social Media for Adult learners at Virginia Commonwealth University. When I started, I had a FB page, used text messing, Gmail, Google and YouTube for my work. This will be an exciting adventure for you, that’s for sure. You are welcome to read through anything that you’d like on my blog. The blog that I just posted is a culmination/reflection of my Personal Learning Network. I am very happy to make suggestions to you for ways in which you can help yourself prior to the class as well as programs that are available for educators. If you are not familiar with Powerful Learning Practice-http://plpnetwork.com/ take a look. I found their information quite helpful. Many of the people that I follow on Twitter are educators.

    I look forward to following you.
    Laurie

Leave a Reply

